“The Felony”

To The President

MY LETTER TO THE PRESIDENT Dec.12, 2011

To: President Barack Obama
From: V. Emory
RE: THE FELONY
“I’ve asked for guidance as to how to address my issue. The answer has been given…. I have not, because I ask not.” -V. Emory
I would like to first commend you on your efforts & judgments, knowing the importance on what you believe to be the best resort for making America and the world a better place is very detrimental to the current and future life-line of this and many nations.
Secondly, I write in hopes of solving an issue that derived from what I have accepted as a “significant mistake”:
15 years ago, I was convicted of a felony count in FLORIDA. Throughout the years, i’ve been submerged in the fact that there are minimal selections of opportunities for felons. The choice I’ve made is to stay free. I strive to be better!
THE REASON FOR MY LETTER…
As I have recently attempted to have my record expunged, I am being told the charges can’t be expunged…. “YES WE CAN!!!” This only reminds me of why I have halted prior attempts. I know I am well deserving of what I am asking. I was sentenced, served my time – free, 13 years now. However, I remain hostage to a charge that describes a category of a crime but, describes nothing truthful about who I am as a person.
THE WAY I AM TREATED BECAUSE OF THIS IS MOTIVATION ENOUGH FOR ME TO SEEK CHANGE….
Job Searches have not worked…, fake classifieds, phone calls, applications asking – “Have you ever been convicted of a felony?” The thoughts that follow that question….. Automatically disqualified from the job, say no, or say yes?
THERE ARE REMEDIES!!!
This law must be changed. I have been denied many opportunities, including grant opportunities for business start ups…. Help me help people in similar situations… IT’S MUCH NEEDED!!!
As I have developed character, perseverance, patience, and a much needed inspiration over the years, I write to you in hopes of change. From an angle of respect for the design and nature of the nations systems developed to curve criminal activity… A CONVICTED FELON , YET CHANGED, MUST I REMAIN SENTENCED TO LIFE??
I have started today with a beautiful intent as I see myself in a new light of freedom, as I do all days. I have a desire to reveal to people in this same situation that there are other options. With your help this has all of a sudden become possible!
Thank You!
RESPECTFULY,
V. EMORY

2 thoughts on ““The Felony”

Leave a Reply

